The Message of the Cross

1 Corinthians 1:18 For the message about the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 1:19 For it is written, “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and I will thwart the cleverness of the intelligent.”
That is how Paul described the message of the Gospel to the Corinthians. As I listen to some of the sermons that seem to be coming from a large number of preachers, it is shocking to see how they try to make the message of the cross more palatable. So I guess my question is, if the scriptures say the message of the cross is foolishness to those who don’t believe then why do we try to make it not foolish? Why do we want to soft pedal it or make it seem like it is wisdom from a self-help manual?

Look I am not abdicating that we close the doors and shut ourselves off from the outside world. NO!! What I am saying is we should tell them the plain unaltered truth of the Gospel. We have to be like Paul describes those a little later in the chapter. One planted and one watered however, it was God who gave the growth. God will destroy the wisdom of the wise. He will take what is foolish to the perishing and turn it into wisdom. Then they will understand and see and experience the power of God.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment